Giving Yourself Fully to the Lord

I was reading in the scriptures this morning in 1 Corinthians 15…… I came to this very wonderful verse.  “Therefore, my dear brothers, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourself fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.” (vs 58) I have to admit , sometimes I wonder if the path I am on is really the right one. But I want you to know….each time I question it, our Father comes to me with a strong affirmation of the rightness of the path. I am gradually learning that He and I are not asking the same questions. He assures me thru His word that if I commit my way unto him, He will guide me on the right path. He tells me that His Word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path (Psalm 119:105) I stay firmly grounded in His word. Finally, His word tells me….Prov. 3:5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. Prov. 3:6  In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He will make your paths straight. I seek to walk in faithfulness to our Father, though not always successfully, my heart is firmly turned towards Him. 
 
So what is the right question then that I should be asking my self? It is not to keep evaluating the path I am on, but to ask, “Am I walking faithfully on the path that I am walking down?” Does my heart stay focused on Him who saves and sancitifies? Am I falling deeper and deeper in love with Jesus each day? Am I staying clearly focused on the person and the purposes of Jesus Christ our Lord? That is why this passage is such a clarion call to me. I am hearing our Father say to me. Stand firm! Walk the path that is before you with complete faithfulness! Let nothing move you! It is an ordained path, filled with the purposes of Christ. Do not turn to the left or the right, keep the course true.
 
Perhaps the hardest part of this passage is the next part…. Always….hmmm. I am always alarmed when I see superlatives in God’s word. Because I am certain if God wanted to communicate anything other than a superlative he could have come up with a better word. Here He adjures us to Always! give yourself…. Fully… to the work of the Lord. WOW! Always! Give Yourself! Fully!….. I don’t know about you but that seems like an impossible task to me. I have a hard time always doing anything, except perhaps being selfish. I seem to have that one down. But to always give myself! That is a tough one for me. Then he adds so that I will not miss out on the importance of what he is saying the word “fully!” Always, give my self fully! God help us! To what?  “The work of the Lord.“
 
What then is the work of the Lord? Well, here is the cool thing. God is a King… right? He is a Father….right? He is a shepherd….right? So what is God’s work?  He protects, he teaches, He guides, He redeems, he provides. We are given a divine responsibility to participate in His work. We don’t do all of it. We don’t get to participate in all aspects of His work. We each one have been given an assignment, a gift, and a path. What our Father desires from each of us is that we ”give ourselves fully to the work He has given to us.“…. to do our work as unto the Lord for it is Christ Jesus whom we serve.” ( Col 3:23-24) One thing is for certain it is an incredible privilege to be a part of God’s work. Paul tells us in 2 Corinthian 5 that we are all called to be Ambassadors of Christ, to be certain a privileged work. 
 
He ends with a marvelous affirmation….“because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.“  How do we know that?2 Chr. 15:7 “But you, be strong and do not lose courage, for there is reward for your work.”  and again Jer. 31:16 Thus says the LORD, “Restrain your voice from weeping And your eyes from tears; For your work will be rewarded,” declares the LORD….
 
What is your work, your calling, part in God’s work? Are you working faithfully?, giving yourself fully to the work that God has given to you?
 
 
Leave a Reply

